Novel can be purchased wherever print and e-book are sold


Can a woman mired deep in the throes of grief have her heart and soul rallied by a therapy dog named Prozac who has supernatural wisdom and a canine Mensa IQ? 

Meredith Mancuso is depressed. Ever since the death of her fiancĂ©, she has shrunk from the world. Even with her successful writing career, she's not motivated to work. When her sister, Monica, begs for a favor, Meredith wants nothing more than to say no. But she’s ultimately roped into pet-sitting an orphaned Yorkshire terrier named Prozac. 

Blessed with spiritual wisdom and a high IQ, Prozac is an active pet therapy dog. To heal brokenhearted Meredith, he rallies his fan club at Evergreen Gardens, an independent living facility, where he visits each week. 

Prozac and the community of resilient older folks challenged by losses of their own propel Meredith, often against her will, back into the land of the living. Meredith learns that most people carry some sort of burden, but it's still possible to find meaning, purpose, and joy—and sometimes, even love—along the way. 


THE THING IS is a perfect read for fans of General Fiction, Contemporary Women's Fiction, Romance, Romantic Comedy, and Dog and Pet Lovers!



THE THING IS (a novel) by Kathleen Gerard
Prices/Formats: $5.99 ebook, $15.99 paperback
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Pages: 275
Release: March 9, 2016
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing

Distributor: Ingram
ISBN-10: 1940215587
ISBN-13: 9781940215587